Welcome To About-Poker.com

FAQ : Fourth Street Cases

Case 1: Both you and your rival have started with good poker hands and you both catch bad cards .

1. What is the bad card?

The bad card is 10 or higher or a pair showing.

2. If you catch a 10 and your rival catches a king should you bet?

Yes, you are more of favorite.

3. If you catch a king and your rival pairs should you bet?

No, you are not the favorite.

4. Why?

You will possibly have to bet first from now onwards.

5. Will you bet a queen into a king or a queen into a pair?

You should not bet for the same positional reasons.

6. What if your rival bets his king into your pair?

It is worth to raise because of your positional advantage (unless you think that his three-card hand is much better than yours).

7. What if he checks his king into your pair?

You can bet (unless you think his three-card hand is much better than yours).

8. How far can you go with this poker strategy concept?

No. Not much far, for instance, a jack against a pair is about an even situation.

9. If you both catch bad card, is it worth a bet if you are low?

No. (However, an exception might be if you think your three-card hand is much better than his three-card hand. Another exception is explained in question no. 12)

10. What is the exception?

If your rival is player who will call on fifth street with a three-card hand even if you seem to have a four-card hand provided he called on fourth street .

11. Example?

You and your rival each have three-card sevens and a queen. If you bet forces him to call on fifth street if you catch good card and your rival catch bad card, then in that case you should bet.

12. If your rival bets and you have both caught bad is it worth a call?

Yes.

13. What if there is a bet on fourth street and he catches good card and you catch a bad one on fifth poker street ?

You should fold.

Case 2: Both you and your rival start with good hands and you catch good card and he catches bad card .

1. Will you bet?

Of course, yes.

2. What if you have paired your hole cards?

You should still bet.

Case 3: Both you and your rival start with good hands and you catch bad card while your rival catches good.

1. What would you generally do?

You should fold if your rival bets.

2. What is the exception?

There need to be a double raise on third street or your hand is very good in that it is low and truly live.

3. What if you suspect in this situation?

You should throw away your hand.

Case 4: Both you and your rival start with good hands and you both catch good cards.

1. If you have a lower board card, have to bet first, and have not paired what would you do?

There is no set way to play the hand.

2. What does this mean?

It means that you should mix up your play.

3. What are your options?

You can bet, check and call, and check and raise.

4. What often can do?

You can often check and call.

5. Why?

It will make your rivals think that you have paired.

6. What good does this do?

It might allow you to trap someone very badly.

7. Example?

You check a 6-3 into an 8-4 and then call. If you make a six or seven low on the next card and your rival catches bad card, you have almost a cinch and he might call you all the way.

8. What is the second advantage of this play?

Against players who are a little bit more aware of your trickiness you can call when you do pair and hey won't automatically think that you have paired.

9. What about betting with this hand when you have not paired?

It is okay particularly if your rival is aware of your poker tricks.

10. What about check-raising?

It would be correct only once in a while.

11. What else about check-raising?

Not only check-raise with a four-card six looking at a two-card seven, but sometimes check-raise with a four-card eight in the same situation. By playing this way your rivals cannot get a line on your play.

12. What if you pair up?

You can check and sometimes call if there is a bet.

13. Why call?

You might get a free card because your rival will fear that you are checking a good hand into him.

14. Will you ever bet into him if you pair?

Yes, but just once in a while.

15. What if your rival act first, has the lower board, comes out betting and you haven't paired?

You should call.

16. Will you ever raise in this situation?

Yes, but only once in a while.

17. Why might it be correct to raise?

To add some variety to your play or you think that your rival may have paired, or your cards are extremely live even though you may not have the best hand.

18. Suppose your rival bets out and you have paired but it is hidden?

You should fold.

19. What if he bets out and you catch a bad card, either an open pair or a high card?

Now it is worse so you should virtually always fold.

20. Why it is worse?

This is because in the first case, where your pair is hidden, if you call and catch good fifth street and he catches bad, you may pick up the poker pot. Not so if you catch bad one on fourth street .

Continue Here : More FAQ And Cases: Fourth Street Play